Florence

Hey everybody!

First of all, I am so sorry for not updating in so long! I must admit that I did have plenty of time on break until I got obsessed with House of Cards. Seriously, that show is one the best shows I have ever watched!!! I would highly recommend it to anyone with a warning – if you do not have at least 2 or 3 days completely free don’t watch it! You will get addicted and never want to stop!!!

Since then I have been swamped with school work, actual work, and other events. I am so happy that it is Saturday and that I FINALLY get a break! Everyone else on my campus seems to be enjoying St. Patrick’s Day festivities already, but I am more than content staying in, watching movies and updating all of you 🙂

So now I will finally continue my posts about Italy! Today I will share my experiences in Florence. I say experiences because I visited Florence at least 5 times. After all, that is where my sister was studying! Almost every other weekend I would go visit her. What I loved most about going to Florence was not feeling like a tourist. Kim got to know the city well really fast since she lived in the center of it so she would show me around and we would do all of the stuff that people who live in Florence do. That said, I did not get to see the statue of David, visit Dante’s house, visit the Gucci museum, or climb the Duomo. What I did get to do was go to the most obscure pizza place which makes Florence’s best pizza (the owner baked my pizza and Kim’s pizza in the shape of a heart!), sit on the edge of the Ponte alla Grazie overlooking the Arno river, go to the awesome grocery store called Conad, shop at an underground boutique that Kim found and buy shirts that are only manufactured in that store i Florence, eat the most fabulous paninis at a place called Pino’s, and explore the city at night with my wonderful twin. There will be a time in my life when I can go back to Florence and be a tourist, but I wouldn’t trade my experiences in Florence for the world!

Here are some pictures I took during my trips to Florence:

Out to dinner with Kim at a wonderful restaurant called Zaza's. I went there 3 times because it was so good!

Out to dinner with Kim at a wonderful restaurant called Zaza’s. I went there 3 times because it was so good!

Outside the Duomo on my first visit to Florence!

Outside the Duomo on my first visit to Florence! 

Our pizza in the shape of a heart!

Our pizza in the shape of a heart!

 

This was some of the best gelato I have ever had!

This was some of the best gelato I have ever had!

Overlooking the Arno river

Overlooking the Arno river and the Ponte alla Vecchio

 

Kim at Zaza's with the best wine I have ever had!! (not even kidding, it was so good!)

Kim at Zaza’s with the best wine I have ever had!! (not even kidding, it was so good!)

Me at Zaza's :)

Me at Zaza’s 🙂

 

Hope you all enjoyed this post! Next I will be posting about my trip to Cinque Terre!

Thanks for reading!

xoxo Kristen

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Florence

Leave a Reply

