Rome

Hey everybody! I hope everyone is having a great start to their weekend! It is supposed to go up to 50 degrees here today so I am ecstatic! I am so ready for winter to be over!

Today I’ll be reminiscing about my trip to Rome! I went to Rome as part of a class trip shortly after getting back from fall break. We went to go see a dance theater piece in a theater by the Vatican. However, we got there early so we had plenty of time to explore the city! Thinking that I was going to be able to visit the Vatican, I dressed in a peter pan collared shirt buttoned all the way up with a blazer over it and pants. Unfortunately there was a 4 hour long wait to get into the Vatican and we only had 4 1/2 hours before we had to meet back in front of the theater to go see the show. So I opted to go with a big group of people from my class who were visiting the Roman Forum and the Colosseum.

I had never traveled with more than 3 other people before and normally people say that travelling with big groups of people is difficult, but I thought it was a lot of fun! I was with about 10 other people and we all really enjoyed our experience together. We never got to go into the Roman forum because we didn’t have the time, but we still took a whole bunch of pictures of the ruins that you could see without going in. Then we went into the Colosseum. It was so awesome!!!! I took Latin in high school and I am a complete nerd when it comes to Roman times, as well as Roman and Greek mythology, from when I learned about it in my Latin class, so of course I was extremely excited to go to the Colosseum! We stayed there while the sun was setting and the view from where we were was absolutely beautiful.

After this, we all got pizza and gelato for dinner and made two quick stops at the Pantheon and Trevi Fountain before heading up to go see the show we the rest of our class. Nobody could really tell what the plot was supposed to be, but the show was still amazing! If anything that added fun to the experience 😛

Although the saying is true that you can’t do Rome in a day and definitely not in 4 hours, I was so happy to be able to see what I did of the city. If I could go back to any city that I visited during my time there I would want to revisit Rome so that I could see everything else that it has to offer. It is such a magnificent city and I want to be able to experience it again!

Here are a few pictures from my class trip to Rome:

The Vittoriano Monument in Piazza Venezia

The Vittoriano Monument in Piazza Venezia

Some of the ruins of the Roman Forum

Some of the ruins of the Roman Forum

Part of the Colosseum (the rest had scaffolding on it while I was there)

Part of the Colosseum (the rest had scaffolding on it while I was there)

Colosseum

Colosseum

Colosseum

Colosseum

Colosseum

Colosseum

Colosseum

Colosseum

Trevi Fountain

Trevi Fountain

Trevi Fountain

Trevi Fountain

Pantheon

Pantheon

My class waiting for the bus to take us home

My class waiting for the bus to take us home

Thank you so much for reading! Hope you all have a great weekend!

xoxo Kristen

2 thoughts on “Rome

Leave a Reply

