Mallorca!!!!

I am so excited about today’s post! My trip to Mallorca is one that I will never forget and I love that I get to relive that experience by telling all of you! Just warning all of you this is probably going to be a LONG post πŸ˜€

The reason I went to Mallorca for fall break is because one of my best friends, Jesse, has family friends who live their. We were invited by them to stay the whole week with them and we COULDN’T turn that opportunity down! We decided that we were going well before we even got to Arezzo, so I was anxiously awaiting our trip for a long time!

Finally fall break came! Despite the fact that the trip was amazing, the first travel day was actually pretty awful! Since we were leaving from the Florence airport, we spent the night in my sister’s apartment in Florence (she was studying abroad there while I was in Arezzo). It was me, Jesse and my friend Chelsea, who was leaving the next morning to go visit her family in England, plus my sister and the 3 people she lived with all in a tiny apartment.Β Even though Chelsea’s flight left at 7 and Jesse’s and mine left at 12:30, we decided to split a taxi to the airport to save money. Which meant that we all had to leave at 5 in the morning. I had a hard time getting to sleep since I was on a tiny couch and was starting to come down with what I thought was a cold, so I only got about an hour and a half of sleep.

Chelsea, Jesse and I all got up at 4 to catch the taxi at 5. Once we got to the airport, Chelsea left to get on her flight and Jesse and I tried to get some sleep. It was impossible. We gave up at around 8 and went to check the board to see when we could check in. Then we realized our flight was delayed for 2 hours. Long story short (especially since this is already very long), we waited 9 and a half hours in the airport. I had no medicine and kept feeling worse and worse. People were actually handing me cough drops at the airport. IT is funny now that I look back on it, but I was not pleased at the time πŸ˜›

By the time we arrived in Mallorca, it was 9:30 at night and I was losing my voice. I felt so bad when I went to go meet Jesse’s friends and could barely even talk to them! But even though I was sick, that did not stop me from enjoying my first night in Mallorca. Sofia, who was the same age as us and whom Jesse had known since she was born, took us out partying in Palma. In the U.S., partying usually consists of staying out until 3-4 am. In Mallorca, the party only really begins at around 3-4 am. We ended up staying out until 8:30 am! It was so much fun, but we were all SO tired. So we slept a little while and then left at 12:30 to have lunch with Sofia’s family.

That day we just spent taking a tour of the family’s home and relaxing. That was probably the best idea in my case since by this point I had lost my voice completely. After a long day of relaxation and getting to know the family (they are some of the nicest people I have ever met!) we slept and got ready to explore Mallorca the next day.

The rest of the trip we spent exploring and it was SO wonderful! We got to go back to Palma and actually take in the city, we visited the Beach, Soller, Valldemossa and quite a few other places! The first day we went to Palma and got to visit the cathedral, as well as a few other places. The second day, we went to an absolutely beautiful place that I cannot for the life of me remember the name of! We drove on some really scary cliff sides in order to get there, but it was totally worth it! The next day was by far my favorite day – our trip to Soller. Soller is gorgeous city! When we got there, we had tapas for lunch and then went on a boat to visit the Torrent de Parais, a rock beach just off the Port de Soller. The water was so blue and the view was fantastic! Also, the boat driver liked the three of us (we went with Sofia) so he let us ride in the front with the Captain! It was all very exciting! Then when we returned to shore we met Sofia’s mother Kelly and her sister Arantxa and had dinner together. That was my favorite meal that I had while I was there!

The day after that (Thursday) we went to the beach. It was magical! We had such a great time relaxing, taking in the sun and having fun in the water. On Friday, we picked up Kim from the airport. Since her fall break fell the week after mine, she couldn’t come for the whole time with us. But she did spend the first 2 days of her break in Mallorca. We went to Valldemosa with her, which is a lovely town with a great view and a beautiful museum, and had fun exploring. We also saw an impromptu piano concert, which was really awesome! That night, being a Friday night in Mallorca, we went out partying in Palma again. We also stayed up until 8 am again πŸ˜› But especially since Kim was there it was a lot of fun!

That Saturday, Jesse and I had to leave. I was so sad saying goodbye to Mallorca. I had such a wonderful time and got to know Sofia and her family very well. I hope to go back and visit them again sometime in the near future!

Collectively, Sofia, Jesse and I took over 600 pictures! Here is just a few of them:

Overlooking the water in Palma

Overlooking the water in Palma

The beautiful view of the water from the heart of Palma

The city of Palma

The place we went to the second day that I can't remember the name of :D

The place we went to the second day that I can’t remember the name of πŸ˜€

Me looking at the gorgeous view

Me looking at the gorgeous view

Day 2

Day 2

The cute, wooden train that took us to Soller!

The cute, wooden train that took us to Soller!

On our way to Soller

On our way to Soller

After the train we had to take a trolley to get to Port de Soller

After the train we had to take a trolley to get to Port de Soller

Our first view of Port de Soller after getting off the trolley
Our first view of Port de Soller after getting off the trolley
Port de Soller

Port de Soller

Port de Soller

Port de Soller

Sofia, Jesse and I with the one of the crewmen on the boat we rode to Torrent de Pareis

Sofia, Jesse and I with the one of the crewmen on the boat we rode to Torrent de Pareis

Sofia and I on the boat

Sofia and I on the boat

Arriving in Torrent de Pareis

Arriving in Torrent de Pareis

Torrent de Pareis

Torrent de Pareis

Torrent de Pareis

Torrent de Pareis

Valldemosa

Valldemosa

Kim and I in Valldemosa

Kim and I in Valldemosa

Sofia, one of her friends, Jesse, Kim and I at a club called Havanna

Sofia, one of her friends, Jesse, Kim and I at a club called Havanna

It was so hard to pick which pictures I wanted to put up, especially from my trip to Soller (I had over 100 pictures just from that one day!). I hope you enjoyed them! Stay tuned for more posts on my Italy adventures!

xoxo Kristen

7 thoughts on “Mallorca!!!!

Leave a Reply

