Cortona

Hey everyone!

One of my favorite places that I visited while I was abroad was definitely Cortona, a small city on a hill that is known to have the greatest view of Tuscany! I love it so much I went there twice! Since it is so close to where I was staying in Arezzo, me and 3 friends actually made it a day trip. Especially after the long weekend traveling five hours to and from Milan and having to take 3 different trains to get there and back, it was definitely good to have an easy weekend!

The main attraction in Cortona is the climb up to the fortress all the way at the top of the hill. We were told by people who had went the week before that it only takes about a half an hour to get up to the top and it was best to go between 4 pm and the time the sun would be setting. So when we got there around 12, we decided to get lunch and head to an Etruscan museum that they had. The museum was amazing! My friends and I all got really overwhelmed at times looking at incredibly kept artifacts that were thousands of years old! It was a great way to start our experience.

Next we explored the city as much as we possibly could. You know how people always say to really appreciate a city you have to let yourself get lost in it? Well that’s what we did. Literally. We couldn’t find our way back to the main part of town for a good hour and a half :D. But by doing that we found some really beautiful places!

At around 3:30 we made our way up the hill to see the fortress. The climb killed all of our thighs thoroughly before getting to the top. Right before the fortress there is a beautiful Duomo which we stopped to look at and take pictures in front of (none of the duomos allow you to take pictures inside). Then we finished the climb up to the fortress. The fortress had 2 art galleries which we looked at before heading to the very top. Once I got up there, I felt like I was in a dream. The view is absolutely magical in every direction! It was absolutely impossible to take a good picture. Seeing that view for the first time is when it really hit me just how lucky I was to be in such a wonderful country. Even now, every time I think about how fortunate I am to have had that experience, I think of that time. I feel so grateful for this and all my experiences there!!

After we got back down to the main square we visited the Cathedral and looked over at the view that was provided there until it was time for dinner. In Italy, restaurants do not usually open for dinner until about 7 or 7:30. In Cortona there was only one restaurant that opened before 7:30 – Fuflun’s. Funny name, right?! Well, we were starving so we decided to go there. The name may be funny, but the food was TO DIE FOR! I had a lot of good food while I was in Italy and Spain but Fuflun’s was my favorite dining experience out of all of them. I definitely recommend eating there if you ever go to Cortona and I specifically recommend the black truffle ravioli, which I had for my main course and which was absolutely divine!

After that, we made our way to the bottom of the hill to return to Arezzo. It may have only been a day trip but that day was a truly wonderful experience that I will never forget. Here are just a few of the 120 pictures I took when I was there:

The main square in Cortona

The main square in Cortona

A really cute house with a beautiful garden that we found during our adventures!

A really cute house with a beautiful garden that we found during our adventures!

Me with a boar hat on :) There is a story that goes along with this that I will be sure to post next time!

Me with a boar hat on πŸ™‚

Part of the climb up the hill!

Part of the climb up the hill!

The Duomo located right before the fortress at the top of the hill

The Duomo located right before the fortress at the top of the hill

The view of the top of the fortress

The view of the top of the fortress

LOOK AT THAT VIEW!!!!!

LOOK AT THAT VIEW!!!!!

Me on top of the fortress

Me on top of the fortress

Me and of my friends on top of the fortress

Me and of my friends on top of the fortress

My Black Truffle Ravioli from Fuflun's. I really miss this!

My Black Truffle Ravioli from Fuflun’s. I really miss this!

I hope you enjoyed reading! Look back for more posts on my Italy adventures!

xoxo Kristen

5 thoughts on “Cortona

  1. The Provoker says:

    Great travel shots of your journey, hope you had a fun fun time!!! So glad I clicked on your comment on FASHIONVIBE and got led back here to yours. I like that you take your own photography instead of using pictures from pinterest or tumblr like other blogs, it’s more personal and original this way. Just followed you on GFC and bloglovin’, be sure to see more of you soon. By the way, check out my new crystal-feathered runway DRIES VAN NOTEN coat with a velvet CHANEL BOY BAG in a tomboy gone lesbian-chic outfit, definitely one of my BEST lewks to date! #PROVOKING

    xx The Provoker
    http://www.the-provoker.com/2014/02/lesbian-chic.html

Leave a Reply

