Milan

Hey everyone!

I hope you are all having a great weekend! This weekend I had one of my brothers and his family come up to visit, so I had a lot of fun! I haven’t gotten to see them since Christmas, so it was nice to be able to spend some quality time with them 😀

So, I promised a post about my trip to Milan, and here it is, even if it is a little late 😛

Since I stayed in Arezzo the first week I was in Italy, Milan was the first place I visited  during my stay there. I traveled with 3 other girlsand we stayed for one night. We bought all of our tickets ahead of time and paid extra to stay in a hotel. As far as travel tips are concerned, I think both of these things were a little unnecessary. We realized that it is very easy to buy tickets at the train station if you get there early enough and that hostels or apartments are a much easier way to go when it comes to traveling in Europe. Paying $100 to stay in a hotel for a night just isn’t worth it when I could use that money to buy 4 tickets on Ryan Air to just about any country in Europe!

Another mistake we made was setting a schedule for exactly what we were gonna do at what times on each day. It is always good to have a general idea of where you are going and what you want to do, but there ended up being so many other things we wanted to do once we arrived. We ended up sticking to our schedule, but I never had such a strict schedule again during the remainder of my travels.

All that aside, I absolutely LOVED Milan! It is such a beautiful city! When we got off the train, the very first thing we saw was the Duomo. It is breathtakingly beautiful! We went inside and explored for a bit, but because there was a Mass going on we never got to climb to the top of it. After hearing stories from other people who went to Milan, I would definitely suggest doing that if you ever go because it is apparently quite an amazing experience.

Also that day we went to an art gallery (the name is escaping me!) and stopped by the Piccolo Teatro. Since we are all theater students we obviously weren’t going to pass up that opportunity! But the best thing by far that we did that night was see Leonardo Da Vinci’s Last Supper. It was painted on the wall of a small little church and, despite the history surrounding the wall and everything that the painting has endured, it has been well preserved! In order to get to it, you are put in a group of about 20 people and brought through 3 rooms, all with doors that seal out the air from outside. This is done to better preserve the painting. Each group gets 15 minutes with the painting. Those 15 minutes were probably some of the best minutes spent on our trip in my opinion. It was an absolutely wonderful experience that I would recommend to anyone going to Milan!

After our long day of doing touristy things, we ended the first night with a dinner on a road overlooking a beautiful castle called Castle Sforza. The food was delicious, the company was wonderful, and the beautiful lit castle was a spectacular site. It was the perfect first day in Milan!

The next day, it rained. Hard. The first thing we did was go and visit the Galleria Vittoria, aka the oldest shopping mall in the world. It has absolutely stunning architecture and is home to the stores of many high end fashion designers, so naturally I was looking forward to going there! I got to go into Louis Vuitton and Prada before I was dragged out to go to our next destination, Castle Sforza. This was the same castle that we could see during dinner the previous night. It is absolutely huge and houses about 12 different exhibits currently. Over the course of 2 and a half hours we only got to see 3 of the exhibits, including and Egyptian exhibit which I really enjoyed (in case you were wondering, I am a proud nerd :D)! The only trouble was navigating the castle grounds in the pouring rain trying to find the exhibits we wanted to see 😛

Next we found a place for lunch and got dry before heading over to the Brera Art Gallery, which houses a great deal of religious art. They were all magnificent, of course! This unfortunately ended our trip. We got some gelato and got back on the 5 hour train ride to the Accademia.

Despite the rain on day 2, I had a fabulous time in Milan. Here are some of my favorite pictures from my trip:

Me outside the Duomo!

Me outside the Duomo!

Details on the Duomo. Isn't it magnificent?!

Details on the Duomo. Isn’t it magnificent?!

View from the first art gallery we went to. Overlooks the Galleria Vittoria (straight ahead) and the Duomo (to the right)

View from the first art gallery we went to. Overlooks the Galleria Vittoria (straight ahead) and the Duomo (to the right)

The entrance to the church where Leonardo Da Vinci's Last Supper is found!

The entrance to the church where Leonardo Da Vinci’s Last Supper is found!

Me and my 3 travel buddies are all smiles as we wait for our turn to see The Last Supper

Me and my 3 travel buddies are all smiles as we wait for our turn to see The Last Supper

Inside the Galleria Vittoria!

Inside the Galleria Vittoria!

This Louis Vuitton is absolutely beautiful inside! Too bad they wouldn't let me take pictures!

This Louis Vuitton is absolutely beautiful inside! Too bad they wouldn’t let me take pictures!

Couldn't resist taking a picture of the beautiful ceiling in  the Galleria Vittoria

Couldn’t resist taking a picture of the beautiful ceiling in the Galleria Vittoria

Outside the Castle Sforza

Outside the Castle Sforza

An inside view of the Castle grounds in Castle Sforza

An inside view of the Castle grounds in Castle Sforza

A picture I took right outside the gelato shop where my friends and I all got gelato before leaving Milan

A picture I took right outside the gelato shop where my friends and I all got gelato before leaving Milan

Well that about does it for my trip to Milan! Hope you enjoyed reading about my adventures! Next I will be posting about my trip to Cortona, a small city 15 minutes away from Arezzo that has the best view of Tuscany! Be prepared for some abolutely breathtaking pictures 😀

Thanks so much for reading!

xoxo Kristen

Leave a Reply

