First Week in Arezzo!

Hey guys!

I am so excited to be doing my first post about my time in Arezzo! Especially since I am currently in the middle of a polar vortex with the temperatures below 10 degrees and 12 feet of snow and ice crashing down on my college campus and the surrounding area, it is wonderful to look back on the first week when it was 95 degress! Getting off of the plane in Florence where everyone from my program (there were only 27 theater students) were all meeting up was nerve racking but extremely exciting. We all got along from the very start. It was easy for me because 16 of the 27 students not including myself were from my school! But even so some of us had never said a word to each other before this experience.

After we had everybody, we got on a bus and headed to Arezzo, which is a small town about an hour and a half away from Florence in the very heart of Tuscany. I would like to say that I have beautiful pictures to share from this first bus ride, but I unfortunately don’t have a single one! I was so exhausted after 11 hours of traveling that I ended up falling asleep on the bus and the few pictures I got at the beginning of the bus ride are so blurry you can barely tell what they are supposed to be haha 😀

When we finally reached the Accademia, we all found our rooms, got unpacked, and got ready to go into town. All of us were trying to fight the jet lag since we had to be up at 8 the next morning! So we were able to explore town for a little bit, go out for a drink at Arezzo’s best bar and meet some of the MFA (Masters) students. It was a great night and despite the fact that I was tired and jet lagged it was a great first experience.

For the rest of the week, we had an orientation for the program, got a tour of town from one of our program advisors (a few of my friends and I ended up getting separated from the group!), made our first trip to PAM, the local grocery store that we all came to love, and get introduced to the INCREDIBLE food cooked by our personal chefs in the program.

Then on the weekend, my twin sister, Kim, who was studying abroad in Florence, came to visit me in Arezzo! We went out into town. climbed up the clock tower in the main Piazza, ate gelato and pizza, and watched the beautiful sunsets on top of the teatrino, the small theater that is located on our campus which looks over the city. Here are some of the pictures that I took that first week:

My first picture of the villa where everyone in my program stayed throughout my time in Italy

My first picture of the villa where everyone in my program stayed throughout my time in Italy

The view from my room!

The view from my room!

The lovely view from the top of the Teatrino. You can see the Duomo (church) off in the distance!

The lovely view from the top of the Teatrino. You can see the Duomo (church) off in the distance!

The beautiful vineyards lining the road on our walk to the supermarket PAM

The beautiful vineyards lining the road on our walk to the supermarket PAM

My view from the top of the clock tower, overlooking the main Piazza in Arezzo

My view from the top of the clock tower, overlooking the main Piazza in Arezzo

The view from behind the Duomo. Looks out on all of Arezzo!

The view from behind the Duomo. Looks out on all of Arezzo!

My first piece of pizza in Italy! It WAS as good as everyone says it is!

My first piece of pizza in Italy! It WAS as good as everyone says it is!

Kim and I reunited in Arezzo!

Kim and I reunited in Arezzo!

One picture of the beautiful sunset. I swear there are no filters on any of my sunset pictures haha

One picture of the beautiful sunset. I swear there are no filters on any of my sunset pictures haha

Another picture of the sunset from the exact same day! I couldn't believe how beautiful the colors were and how quickly they changed from beautiful pinks, purples and blues to spectacular reds and oranges!

Another picture of the sunset from the exact same day! I couldn’t believe how beautiful the colors were and how quickly they changed from beautiful pinks, purples and blues to spectacular reds and oranges!

My first week was absolutely incredible. Looking back on it now makes me miss it so much, but I feel so blessed to have these wonderful experiences that I was able to share with wonderful people! Especially like a snowy day like it is for me today, it is nice to be able to reminisce.

I hope you all liked the pictures and hearing about my experiences abroad! Next I am going to be talking about and sharing some of my picture from the first trip I took: MILAN!!! Thank you for reading!

xoxo Kristen

3 thoughts on “First Week in Arezzo!

Leave a Reply

