The Woman in the Dress

Given the name of my blog, I thought it was fitting for me to wear a dress for my first outfit post. This is one of my favorite dresses I own, and it was given to me by my sister, which makes it even more special.

American Rag Dress

American Rag Dress

Pic from my sister's Instagram

Pic from my sister’s Instagram

IMG_0458

Forever 21 Shoes

Forever 21 Shoes

I love really feminine pieces like this dress and the pearl bracelets, but I love that these shoes add some edge to the outfit. The overall softness and overwhelming feminine quality with the little added edge reflects my overall style very well, as well as my personality.

IMG_0456

IMG_0457

As for the hair, this is my go-to hairstyle. Whenever I am at a loss for something new to try with my hair(and trust me I LOVE experimenting with hair), I either leave it down or do this. I especially love working with braids, which is why I incorporated one in the back of this twisted look to surround the bun (it is not very visible in the picture). To make the bun fuller, I added a sock bun. I find that these come in handy when you want to add some volume to your bun. I use Conair’s Bun Maker sock bun. If you have any questions about this look, feel free to comment.

For my makeup, I always try to keep it simple and natural. To me, that means a bright face and lightly accented eyes. I achieve that by using BB Cream instead of foundation, a light pink powder blush and a neutral matte eye palette. I also do not line my lower lash line, just tightline the top. Again, if you have any questions feel free to comment.

With this look, I feel confident, which to me is the most important aspect of any look. It is more than just a dress, it is a reflection of my personality.

Thank you to my wonderful twin sister Kim for taking these pictures! Sorry for the quality of the photos – she just got a new camera which she has not gotten a usb for yet so she used her iphone :P. I hope you enjoy this look! Thanks for reading!

xoxo Kristen

Dress – American Rag   |   Shoes – Forever 21   |   Earrings – Fashion Bug

Pearl and gold Bracelets – Forever 21, Landau   |   Ring – Landau   |   Watch – Kohls

12 thoughts on “The Woman in the Dress

Leave a Reply

